3 kitchen ingredients to make more than 14 amazing beauty products

More and more of us are choosing to switch to more natural beauty products. There is a growing market for organic, simple products with extracts of nature in them. To find out why read A brief exposure of the beauty industry.

A few years ago I received an amazing birthday present. It was a recipe book for how to make my own beauty products. Within days I had cleared my shelves of all my shop-bought products, ordered a load of ingredients from Ebay and went on a mission to eradicate all chemicals from my daily routine. Over the next few years I built up quite a collection of castle soaps, natural clays and various essential oils. I made everything from shower gel, face cream, body scrub, face masks, lip balms and much much more.

When I decided to travel however I realised I was not able to sustain this because I could not take my huge box of ingredients with me. I didn’t want to revert back to using shop products so I started to look for some more basic products.

The first thing I did was to get rid of my shampoo, conditioner, dry shampoo and all hair- styling products. See the The Shampoo Secret.

So here are my 3 ingredients:

  1. Coconut oil (not from Thailand…chained monkey blah blah blah)
  2. Bicarbonate of soda
  3. Apple cider vinegar

These ingredients have a TONNE of natural healing, moisturising and cleansing properties, there is no need to spend lots of much money on shop-bought products!

Here are the recipes I’m currently making with the above ingredients:

Teeth

Toothpaste

20130425-IMG_3877

  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 2 tablespoons Baking Soda
  • 10 drops of Peppermint oil (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (optional)

*Note that shop bought toothpaste contains sodium flouride (used in rat poison and pesticides causing vomiting and diarrhea if ingested) triclosan (a pesticide linked to cancer), sodium lauryl sulfate (a powerful carcinogenic), propylene glycol (used in anti-freeze and linked to brain, liver and kidney abnormalities), DEA (disrupts hormones and causes cancer)

Since I started to use this toothpaste I have actually noticed my teeth have become whiter from the bicarb!

 

Oil pulling

An age-old method for improved oral health

benefits-of-oil-pulling
  • 2 x teaspoons  coconut oil

Instructions: In the morning on an empty stomach, swish around mouth for 20 minutes, spit out and brush teeth. Do this 3-4 times a week

Hair

See my previous blog post here for loads more info on how and why to avoid chemicals on your hair. I currently use mainly warm water as shampoo as my hair is now at a stage where this is enough to clean it as well as shampoo used to….

IMG_20160228_153750
water-only washing

……..but here are a couple of basic recipes if you really do want that promised thicker, longer shinier hair:

Shampoo

baking-soda-shampoo
  • 1 part baking soda
  • 3 parts water

(depending on hair length)

Instructions: Mix and apply to wet hair, scrub well and leave for 1-3 mins, rinse with warm water

Conditioner

  • 1 part apple cider vinegar
  • 4 parts water

Instructions: Mix and apply to hair (except the roots), wash with cold water to seal in the moisture and for de-tangled shiny hair! This also works well on dandraff

Leave- in conditioner
  • Small amount of coconut oil

Instructions: apply to the ends and leave

Face and body
Face/ body wash
  • 2 parts baking soda
  • 1 part warm water

Instructions: mix and apply to skin, wash.

Face and body scrub/ mask
hi-852-scrub-face-istock-000020630479small
  • 1 part baking soda
  • 1 part coconut oil

Instructions: mix, apply to skin and rub in circular motions. Leave on for a few minutes and wash. These ingredients work great for acne, redness, scarring, balancing pH levels, moisturising and removing oil, dirt and dry skin …. and for a fraction of the price of shop- bought products.

* make up small batches and store

Facial toner

  • 1 part apple cider vinegar
  • 2 parts water  (sensitive water 4 parts and for oily skin  part)

 

Face and body moisturiser 

We don’t need to spend our money on a product with a load of chemical ingredients to moisturise our bodies. We can do this a lot cheaper and more effectively with just one ingredient, and without adding extra chemicals to our skin:

Put-the-sheen-back-in-your-face-step2-dotyourfac-picslider-430x550
  • coconut oil

* It is possible to buy products with coconut (or other) oils in them but why not cut out the middle man, remove the chemicals and use it in its purest form without lining the pockets of big beauty industries!

Makeup remover
  • coconut oil

  • tissue
Lip balm
  • coconut oil

Others
If you have irritated, sensitive skin or allergic reactions try this

anti-inflamatory face mask

Deodorant: try this lime  recipe. Or here is a recipe a friend made for me which works really well and smells delicious!….

5 tbs coconut oil, 4 tbs baking soda,  3 tbs arrowroot powder, 2 tbs bentonite clay, 5 drops each of tea tree, rosemary, bergamot and lavender essential oils, and 2 drops lemon essential oil. Mix in a bowl and spoon into a container

If you don’t think it can be this easy and feel more comfortable buying shop-bought deodorant make sure it doesn’t contain aluminium because this has been linked to cancer. Here is a product I used for many years.

Nails: I always wanted strong long nails, but as soon as they grew to any kind of length they would become so weak that they would break off. In another one of my crazy minimalist moves I threw away all my nail varnish. At around the same time I started taking biotin for my hair. Fast forward to a month later and my nails were suddenly growing super long and strong! (photo!!) It was the weirdest thing. I didn’t know whether it was the supplements or the lack of nail varnish/ remover but I no longer take the supplements and my nails are still as long. I personally embrace my natural nail colour and don’t feel the need to use polish anymore, but a few weeks ago I tried using henna and was really impressed:

I have since found out that henna contains keratin which actually helps strengthen nails further. In the future I want to try henna for my hair too !

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

